My name is Oli Lyon, I grew up near Guildford, Surrey. 

 

I studied Fine Art at Chelsea Art College in London. I had a great experience at art school and art has remained a major part of my life, I am always creating or thinking about the next painting. I am looking forward to being inspired by seeing the world from the perspective of two wheels! I am fortunate that I live in a part of the world that enabled me to have this type of education which is why I feel the work done by the charity, ‘School in a Bag’, is so important.

 

I have always enjoyed cycling, using it as my main form of transport for many years. Most recently during lockdown, the pace of cycling has provided a great escape into the countryside - no matter the weather. When at home I spend most of my time reconditioning old road bikes for selling and painting.

 

​I can’t wait to get going and am hoping to raise a good amount of money for charity on the way.

About me pic.jpeg

My name is Marcus Pillinger, I’ve lived in Guildford, Surrey for most of my life and have recently moved back here after a few years in London to embark on this journey! I studied in London and graduated in 2015 with a degree in Biochemistry.

 

Growing up in the hills around Guildford, I have always been an ‘outdoorsy’ person and cycling has been part of that since going on rides with my Dad as a child. I am also a keen cook and photographer, skills I’ll definitely be deploying on the tour as we camp after a long day's ride, and to document our trip.

 

I have never embarked on a trip this big before and I’m relishing the challenge.